Indian Wells, California

March 4-17, 2019

History Timeline

Fans watch matches on the big screen

Indian Wells Tennis Garden debuted an impressive renovation, highlighted by the addition of more than 20 new dining options on site, including Wolfgang Puck’s Spago, a full-service 100-seat restaurant that overlooks the court on Stadium 1. Roger Federer celebrated his fifth tournament win, beating fellow Swiss Stan Wawrinka in straight sets: 6-4, 7-5. Elena Vesnina was victorious over Svetlana Kuznetsova in three sets: 6-7 (6-8), 7-5, 6-4. The tournament generated over $406 million in economic impact.

Djokovic vs Raonic

Victoria Azarenka won her second title by defeating Serena Williams in straight sets (6-4, 6-4) and Novak Djokovic beat Milos Raonic in straight sets (6-2, 6-0) for a record-setting fifth tournament title.

halep cheering

Simona Halep beat Jelena Janković in three sets (2-6, 7-5, 6-4) and Novak Djokovic, once again, defeated Roger Federer in straight sets to celebrate his fourth title win, 6-3, 6-7 (5-7),6-2.

stadium with nobu

After only 10 months and 10 days of construction, a brand new, permanent 8,000-seat Stadium 2 opened this year, including a world-renowned Nobu restaurant overlooking the court. John McEnroe hosted the first McEnroe Challenge for Charity. Novak Djokovic defeated Roger Federer in three sets (3-6, 6-3, 7-6(7-3)) to celebrate his third win and Flavia Pennetta beat Agnieszka Radwanska in straight sets: 6-2, 6-1. Total tournament attendance surpassed 430,000 and generated over $373 million in economic impact.


Maria Sharapova won her second tournament title, beating Caroline Wozniacki in straight sets (6-2, 6-2) and Rafael Nadal celebrated his third tournament win, defeating Juan Martín del Potro (4-6, 6-3, 6-4). Both Sharapova and Nadal were reigning French Open champions.


The event became the only ATP/WTA combined event to offer $1 Million in prize money to each of its singles champions. Tennis legend Raymond Moore was also announced as the new CEO of both the tournament and Indian Wells Tennis Garden. Roger Federer returned to the winner’s circle with his fourth tournament win, this time over John Isner in straight sets, 7-6 (9-7), 6-3 and Victoria Azarenka improved her glittering start to the year to 23-0 and defeated Maria Sharapova in straight sets, 6-2, 6-3.


The BNP Paribas Open became, and remains, the only tournament in the world to offer the Hawkeye electronic line calling system on every match court. In a 2007 rematch with a different outcome, Novak Djokovic beat Rafael Nadal in three sets 4-6, 6-3, 6-2 to win for the second time. The women’s title was won by Caroline Wozniacki who defeated Marion Bartoli in three sets: 6-1, 2-6, 6-3.