IWTG 1999

A new home for a new millennium, the tournament moved to the newly constructed Indian Wells Tennis Garden. The state-of-the-art facility boasted the second largest stadium in the world at 16,100-seats, as well as seven other match courts spread throughout the 54-acres of lush landscape. The tournament also saw an increased playing field, resulting in a full two-week event, and both the men’s and women’s events became known as the Tennis Masters Series Indian Wells presented by Newsweek. Àlex Corretja defeated Thomas Enqvist in straight sets: 6-4, 6-4, 6-3 and Lindsay Davenport won for the second time, beating Martina Hingis in three sets: 4-6, 6-4, 6-0.


The women’s tournament, known once again as the Evert Cup, was won by Serena Williams who defeated Steffi Graf in three sets: 6-3, 3-6, 7-5. Mark Philippoussis beat Carlos Moyà in five sets: 5-7, 6-4, 6-4, 4-6, 6-2.


Event organizers Charlie Pasarell and Raymond Moore partnered with IMG to build the Indian Wells Tennis Garden. Marcelo Ríos defeated Greg Rusedski in a gruelling 4 sets: 6-3, 6-7 (15-17), 7-6 (7-4), 6-4 and Martina Hingis beat reigning champion Lindsay Davenport in straight sets: 6-3, 6-4.


The WTA designated the State Farm Evert Cup as a Tier 1 event, the top WTA category at the time and Lindsay Davenport celebrated her first desert win against Irina Spîrlea in straight sets: 6-2, 6-1. Davenport held a perfect record at the 1997 event and also won the doubles title. Michael Chang defended his title, winning for the third time when he beat Bohdan Ulihrach in 4 sets: 4-6, 6-3, 6-4, 6-3.

Hyatt Stadium

In previous years the women’s event was held immediately prior the men’s, but that changed in 1996 when ATP and WTA approved the combining of the events. Known as the Newsweek Champions Cup/State Farm Evert Cup presented by Harman International, the tournament in Indian Wells became one of only six combined tournaments in the world. Michael Chang and Steffi Graf both won for the second time. Chang defeated Paul Haarhuis in straight sets: 7-5, 6-1, 6-1 and Graf beat Conchita Martínez in straight sets: 7-6 (7-5), 7-6 (7-5).

Pete and Andre

The WTA tournament was renamed the State Farm Evert Cup this year and was won by Mary Joe Fernández who defeated Natasha Zvereva in straight sets: 6-4, 6-3. Pete Sampras defended his title on a Monday, the event’s only final ever played on a weekday, by beating Andre Agassi in straight sets: 7-5, 6-3, 7-5.


The WTA tournament, known simply as the Evert Cup this year, was won by Steffi Graf who defeated Amanda Coetzer in straight sets: 6-0, 6-4. Pete Sampras brought home the men’s title, beating Petr Korda in five sets: 4-6, 6-3, 3-6, 6-3, 6-2.

Hyatt stadium from above

First Jim Courier beat reigning champion Michael Chang in the semifinals, then Wayne Ferreira in the finals in straight sets (6-3, 6-3, 6-1) to win the tournament for the second time. As for the women, Mary Joe Fernández defeated Amanda Coetzer in three sets: 3-6, 6-1, 7-6 (8-6).

Evert Cup

Chris Evert attached her name to the WTA tournament this year, making it known as the Matrix Essentials Evert Cup. Monica Seles defeated Conchita Martínez in straight sets: 6-3, 6-1. Michael Chang beat Andrei Chesnokov in straight sets: 6-3, 6-4, 7-5 to take home the men’s title.


This year the tournament became an official Sony Ericsson WTA tour event under the name of Virginia Slims of Indian Wells. Martina Navratilova defended her title, beating Monica Seles in straight sets: 6-2, 7-7 (8-6). Guy Forget was able to defeat reigning champion, Stefan Edberg, in the semifinals but fell to Jim Courier in a thrilling five sets: 4-6, 6-3, 4-6, 6-3, 7-6 (7-4).