group with check

In addition to celebrating its 35th anniversary, the tournament gained a new owner in Larry Ellison, co-founder and CEO of Oracle Corporation. In response to the January 2010 earthquake, Ellison coordinated BNP Paribas Open “Hit for Haiti,” a charity exhibition that raised a million dollars for the American Red Cross Haiti Relief and Development Fund. Jelena Janković defeated Caroline Wozniacki in straight sets (6-2, 6-4) and Ivan Ljubičić beat Andy Roddick in straight sets: 7-6 (7-3), 7-6 (7-5).


BNP Paribas is a premier sponsor of tennis globally, and became the new title sponsor of the tournament in Indian Wells. Rafael Nadal won his second title, defeating Andy Murray in straight sets (6-1, 6-2) and Vera Zvonareva defeated reigning champion Ana Ivanovic, also in straight sets: 7-6 (7-5), 6-2.

Ana Champion

Ana Ivanovic defeated Svetlana Kuznetsova in straight sets (6-4, 6-3) and went on to become World No. 1. Novak Djokovic beat Mardy Fish in three sets (6-2, 5-7, 6-3) to win his first tournament title.


Rafael Nadal beat Novak Djokovic in straight sets (6-2, 7-5) and Daniela Hantuchová won for the second time, beating Svetlana Kuznetsova in straight sets: 6-3, 6-4. The total event attendance surpassed 300,000 for the first time, becoming the first event outside the majors to do so.


The tournament was threatened this year by hard economic times but tennis legends Pete Sampras, Billie Jean King and Chris Evert, along with new investors, banded together to acquire IMG’s 50% ownership of the tournament. The City of Indian Wells purchased 27 acres of adjacent land in order to keep the tournament in the Coachella Valley, despite investor interest overseas. Roger Federer was dominant for the third year in a row, defeating James Blake in straight sets (7-5, 6-3, 6-0) and Maria Sharapova beat Elena Dementieva in straight sets (6-1, 6-2) to take home the women’s title.


In three sets (6-4, 4-6, 6-2) Kim Clijsters once again beat Lindsay Davenport for her second women’s title. Roger Federer defended his title, defeating 2-time tournament champion Lleyton Hewitt in straight sets, 6-2, 6-4, 6-4.

Henin 2004

Justine Henin took the women’s title, beating Lindsay Davenport in straight sets 6-1, 6-4. Roger Federer won the men’s event for the first time, defeating Tim Henman in straight sets, 6-3, 6-3.

IWTG 2003

Kim Clijsters beat Lindsay Davenport in straight sets 6-4, 7-5 to take home the women’s title and Lleyton Hewitt defended his title, defeating Gustavo Kuerten in straight sets, 6-1, 6-1.

Hantuchova 2002

The tournament became known as the Pacific Life Open presented by City of Indian Wells this year. Lleyton Hewitt defeated Tim Henman in straight sets: 6-1, 6-2. Daniela Hantuchová defeated Martina Hingis, also in straight sets: 6-3, 6-4.


Andre Agassi defeated Pete Sampras in straight sets: 7-6 (7-5), 7-5, 6-1 to take home the men’s title for the first time and Serena Williams beat Kim Clijsters in three sets: 4-6, 6-4, 6-2 to take home her second women’s title. The total event attendance surpassed 200,000 for the first time.