Wednesday, March 8, 2023 - Yibing Wu plays against Jaume Munar during the 1st round of the BNP Paribas Open at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden in Indian Wells, California. (Jared Wickerham/BNP Paribas Open)
Now THAT’s how you finish off a match – or is it?
In a two-hour, 39-minute duel between rising star Wu Yibing and tenacious Spaniard Jaume Munar, things got a little bit… testy after the final point, which saw the Chinese win 6-7(6), 6-0, 7-6(3) to advance in Tennis Paradise.
Several shots into a tension-filled rally on match point in the third-set tiebreak, Wu went all in on a delicate drop shot at the net. Showing off his speed, Munar chased it down and pushed it back cross court – but Wu read the play, diving to make the volley and secure a hard-fought victory. However, after making the shot, he lost grip of his racquet, sending it into the net, which by the ATP’s official rules would count as a hindrance resulting in Wu losing the point. That rule only stands though if the net-touch happens before the ball has bounced twice (and the point completed).
Such was the argument Munar made to the umpire after she had called the final score, but veteran French umpire Aur´elie Tourte was having none of his argument. The conquered Spaniard continued to plead his case, but to no avail – and in the background, a relieved Wu celebrated his win in front of a jubilant (but slightly confused) Stadium 2 crowd.
What did you think? Did the umpire make the right call? Watch the video below and tweet @BNPPARIBASOPEN with your opinion.
Wu Pulls Thru 😍
— Tennis TV (@TennisTV) March 9, 2023